2021 NFHCA Division III All-American Teams announced

Dec 14, 2021 | 2021-2022, Division III, News

Caelin Flaherty, Trinity College

BROCKPORT, N.Y. — This year, 48 Division III student-athletes have been recognized by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) as All-Americans for their performances throughout the 2021 season — the selections are divided into first, second, and third teams.

Four student-athletes — Abby Birk from Johns Hopkins University, Kristiina Castagnola from Rowan University, Jackie Lerro from the University of Lynchburg, and Bre Socker from St. John Fisher College — were selected as All-Americans for the second time in their careers. One student-athlete, Erin Nicholas from Middlebury College, received All-American recognition for the third time.

Honorees are listed below, first by All-American team, then alphabetically by last name.

First Team All-American

Sara Amil, Washington and Lee University (Goalkeeper)
Jessica Ascencao, SUNY New Paltz (Defender)
Abby Asuncion, Christopher Newport University (Midfielder)
Abby Birk, Johns Hopkins University (Midfielder)
Maddie Brown-Scherer, Johns Hopkins University (Forward)
Kristiina Castagnola, Rowan University (Midfielder)
Caelin Flaherty, Trinity College (Forward)
Paige Forester, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Forward)
Katie George, Middlebury College (Forward)
Molly Gorczyca, Rowan University (Defender)
Faith Jennings, Bowdoin College (Forward)
Tess Muneses, Washington and Lee University (Midfielder)
Erin Nicholas, Middlebury College (Midfielder)
Sophie Schoeni, Tufts University (Midfielder)
Amanda Strenk, University of Rochester (Forward)
Jennie Young, Messiah University (Forward)

Second Team All-American

Allie Benadon, University of Scranton (Midfielder)
Georgina Coetzer, Bowdoin College (Defender)
Lia DiPiazza, Kean University (Midfielder)
Keirra Ettere, SUNY Cortland (Forward)
Jess Hatch, The College of New Jersey (Defender)
Mia Hernandez, Kean University (Defender)
Jackie Lerro, University of Lynchburg (Forward)
Jillian Miele, Johnson & Wales University (Forward)
McKenzie Mitchell, Salisbury University (Forward)
Sydney Poulin, Endicott College (Midfielder)
Cassidy Riley, Babson College (Goalkeeper)
Bre Socker, St. John Fisher College (Forward)
Hannah Spiri, Dickinson College (Defender)
Julia Steeves, University of New England (Midfielder)
Elizabeth Welch, Williams College (Midfielder)
Meredith Wickenheiser, Centre College (Midfielder)

Third Team All-American

Emily Batchelor, Williams College (Forward)
Devon Carroll, Ursinus College (Midfielder)
Lauren Curley, Babson College (Forward)
Ravenel Davis, Haverford College (Forward)
Brianna Duba, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (Defender/Midfielder)
Kailey Fitzgerald, Washington and Lee University (Midfielder)
Jenna Flemings, Kean University (Goalkeeper)
Haleigh Flukey, Fairleigh Dickinson University, Florham (Forward)
Emily Harris, Castleton University (Forward)
Kelsey Jones, Shenandoah University (Midfielder)
Jacqueline Mirabile, Ithaca College (Defender)
Aryana Muscara, Stevens Institute of Technology (Defender)
Lindsay Strong, Wellesley College (Defender)
Jordan Thompson, Kean University (Forward)
Marin Waddington, Tufts University (Midfielder)
Beth Williamson, Amherst College (Defender)

The NFHCA Division III All-American announcement is the third in a list of postseason awards from the NFHCA. The association has already released the 2021 NFHCA Division III All-Region teams and the 2021 NFHCA Division III Regional Players of the Year. The NFHCA National Player of the Year will be announced on December 16.

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is a nonprofit organization serving field hockey coaches and supporters of the game from across the United States. The mission of the organization is to champion, strengthen, and celebrate field hockey coaches and the game. The NFHCA strives to cultivate and recognize the professional contributions of its membership and to foster and promote the growth of the sport. The NFHCA is responsible for providing a recognizable presence and voice in regard to legislation affecting the sport as well as interscholastic and intercollegiate programs.