NFHCA Honors Academic Excellence: 2023 Division III National Team Academic Awards Announced

Feb 21, 2024 | 2023-2024, Division III, News

Photo credit: Steven Goldburg

MANAHAWKIN, NJ — The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) proudly recognizes the academic excellence of 61 Division III programs, presenting them with the 2023 National Academic Team Award. This prestigious accolade is bestowed upon programs that have achieved a remarkable team grade-point average of 3.5 or higher during the fall semester of the current academic year.

Leading the academic charge is Middlebury College, securing the top spot with an impressive team GPA of 3.83. Following closely, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) claims second place, boasting a commendable team-average GPA of 3.82. Lancaster Bible College secures the third position with a noteworthy team average of 3.80.

Top Five Performers

1. Middlebury College, 3.83  
2. MIT, 3.82  
3. Lancaster Bible College, 3.80  
4. Shenandoah University, 3.79  
5. Smith College, 3.77  

The full list of National Academic Team Award honorees is below in alphabetical order.

2023 NFHCA Division III National Academic Team Award

Allegheny College
Amherst College
Arcadia University
Bates College
Bowdoin College
Bryn Mawr College
Cabrini University
Clark University
Colby College
Connecticut College
Dickinson College
Endicott College
Franklin & Marshall College
Gettysburg College
Goucher College
Haverford College
Husson University
Johns Hopkins University
Juniata College
Keene State College
Kenyon College
Keystone College
King’s College
Lancaster Bible College
Lasell University
Lebanon Valley College
Marywood University
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Middlebury College
Montclair State University
Mount Holyoke College
Muhlenberg College
Nichols College
Ohio Wesleyan University
Shenandoah University
Simmons University
Skidmore College
Smith College
Springfield College
St. Mary’s College of Maryland
Stevens Institute of Technology
SUNY New Paltz
Susquehanna University
Swarthmore College
Sweet Briar College
Thomas College
Tufts University
University of Maine at Farmington
University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
University of Saint Joseph
Ursinus College
Vassar College
Washington and Lee University
Washington College
Wellesley College
Wesleyan University
Wheaton College
William Smith College
Williams College
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
York College of Pennsylvania

The NFHCA National Scholar-Athlete will be announced on February 26. The Division III National Academic Squad and Division III Scholars of Distinction were announced earlier this month.

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is a nonprofit organization serving field hockey coaches and supporters of the game from across the United States. The mission of the organization is to stimulate the professional development of coaching leadership within the sport of field hockey. The NFHCA strives to cultivate and recognize the professional contributions of its membership and to foster and promote the growth of the sport. The NFHCA is responsible for providing a recognizable presence and voice in regard to legislation affecting the sport as well as interscholastic and intercollegiate programs.