NFHCA announces 2022 NFHCA Division III Regional Coaching Staffs of the Year

Dec 6, 2022 | 2022-2023, Division III, News

Regional Coaching Staff of the Year

GENEVA, N.Y. — Six Division III coaching staffs have been recognized as their region’s 2022 NFHCA Coaching Staff of the Year. Each honoree was selected by a majority vote of their regional colleagues.

Region I

Babson College

Julie Ryan, Darly Perry, Lindsey O’Coin
  • Named New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference Coaching Staff (NEWMAC) of the Year
  • NEWMAC regular-season and tournament champions, going undefeated in conference play
  • Advanced to the NCAA quarterfinals for the second-straight year
  • This is Babson’s second consecutive Regional Coaching Staff of the Year award and the fifth in program history

Region II

Middlebury College

Katharine DeLorenzo, Lauren McNally, Andrea Way
  • New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) regular-season and tournament champions
  • First team across any division to win five-straight NCAA Championships
  • DeLorenzo became the first NESCAC field hockey coach to earn NESCAC Coach of the Year five-straight times to bring her total to six
  • This is Middlebury’s fifth-straight Regional Coaching Staff of the year award

Region III

William Smith College

Sophie Riskie, Katie Lass, Kelly Blackhurst, Ami Cammarota
  • Liberty League tournament champions
  • Advanced to NCAA second round
  • Finished the 2022 season with a 17-5 overall record including a perfect 12-0 mark in Geneva, NY
  • This is William Smith’s fourth Regional Coaching of the Year award and the first for Riskie at the helm

Region IV

Rowan University

Michelle Andre, Erin Small, Danielle Altersitz, Dayna DeVincentz, Garnell Peters
  • Andre named New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC) Coach of the Year for the second-straight year
  • Back-to-back NJAC regular-season and tournament champions, touting an undefeated conference record
  • Advanced to NCAA semfinals for the second straight year
  • This is Rowan’s third Regional Coaching Staff of the Year award and second-straight

Region V

Johns Hopkins University

Jane Wells, James Albanese, Merritt Davis
  • Fifth-straight Centennial Conference regular-season and fourth-straight Centennial Conference tournament champions
  • Advanced to the NCAA semifinals for the fourth-straight time and NCAA Championship game for the second consecutive season
  • Finished the 2022 season 19-4 including an undefeated 10-0 conference record
  • This is Hopkins’ third Regional Coaching Staff of the Year award

Region VI

Salisbury University

Dawn Chamberlin, Brooke Lohr, Lindsey Barbacow, Dom Farrace
  • Chamberlin and staff were named the Coast-to-Coast Athletic Conference (C2C) Coaching Staff of the Year
  • C2C regular-season and tournament champions
  • Advanced to NCAA quarterfinals
  • This is Salisbury’s eighth Regional Coaching Staff of the Year award

While the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) officially recognizes each institution’s field hockey coaches, the association acknowledges the important work of all staff members who contribute to a program’s success.

The 2022 NFHCA Division III National Coaching Staff of the Year will be announced on Friday, January 13, 2023 at the NFHCA Awards Dinner sponsored by AstroTurf® at the 2023 NFHCA Annual Convention.

Region III photo credit: Chris Gray

Region VI photo credit: FotoJoe Photography

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is a nonprofit organization serving field hockey coaches and supporters of the game from across the United States. The mission of the organization is to champion, strengthen, and celebrate field hockey coaches and the game. The NFHCA strives to cultivate and recognize the professional contributions of its membership and to foster and promote the growth of the sport. The NFHCA is responsible for providing a recognizable presence and voice in regard to legislation affecting the sport as well as interscholastic and intercollegiate programs.