NFHCA announces 2022 Division III National Academic Team Award

Feb 21, 2023 | 2022-2023, Division III, News

Photo credit: Swarthmore College

GENEVA, N.Y. — The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is proud to announce that 59 Division III programs have earned the 2022 NFHCA Division III National Academic Team Award sponsored by TopSticks.

The NFHCA National Academic Team Award recognizes programs that earned a team grade-point average of 3.5 or higher during the fall semester of the current academic year.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) posted the highest team GPA with a mark of 3.86. Swarthmore College came in second with a team-average 3.83. NCAA runners-up Johns Hopkins University came in third with a 3.81 team average.

Top Five Performers

1. MIT, 3.86  
2. Swarthmore College, 3.83  
3. Johns Hopkins University, 3.81  
3. Cabrini University, 3.80  
5. Earlham College, 3.79  

The full list of National Academic Team Award honorees is below in alphabetical order.

2022 NFHCA Division III National Academic Team Award

Albertus Magnus College
Allegheny College
Alvernia University
Amherst College
Arcadia University
Bates College
Bowdoin College
Cabrini University
Connecticut College
Dean College
Denison University
Dickinson College
Drew University
Earlham College
Fairleigh Dickinson University
Hamilton College
Haverford College
Ithaca College
Johns Hopkins University
Kean University
Keystone College
Marywood University
Meredith College
Middlebury College
Misericordia University
Montclair State University
Moravian University
Mount Holyoke College
Muhlenberg College
Ohio Wesleyan University
Regis College
Saint Joseph’s College of Maine
Salisbury University
Salve Regina University
Shenandoah University
Simmons University
Skidmore College
Smith College
Springfield College
St. John Fisher University
Stevens Institute of Technoloogy
Swarthmore College
Sweet Briar College
The College of Wooster
Tufts University
University of New England
University of Southern Maine
Ursinus College
Vassar College
Virginia Wesleyan University
Washington and Lee University
Washington College
Wellesley College
Wheaton College (MA)
Widener University
William Smith College
Williams College
York College of Pennsylvania

One Division III academic award remains to be released, the NFHCA National Scholar-Athlete will be announced on February 22. The Division III National Academic Squad and Division III Scholars of Distinction were announced earlier this month.

TopSticks is the official sponsor of the NFHCA National Academic Team award.

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is a nonprofit organization serving field hockey coaches and supporters of the game from across the United States. The mission of the organization is to champion, strengthen, and celebrate field hockey coaches and the game. The NFHCA strives to cultivate and recognize the professional contributions of its membership and to foster and promote the growth of the sport. The NFHCA is responsible for providing a recognizable presence and voice in regard to legislation affecting the sport as well as interscholastic and intercollegiate programs.