NFHCA announces 2021 Division III National Academic Team Award

Feb 21, 2022 | 2021-2022, Division III, News

Photo credit: Dave Silverman/MIT Athletics

BROCKPORT, N.Y. — The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is proud to announce that 148 Division III programs have earned the 2021 NFHCA Division III National Academic Team Award.

The NFHCA National Academic Team Award recognizes programs that earned a team grade-point average of 3.0 or higher during the fall semester of the current academic year.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology posted the highest team GPA with a mark of 3.86. Dean College came in second with a team-average 3.80. NCAA National Champion, Middlebury College, and NCAA runners-up Johns Hopkins University, also appear on the top-five performers list.

Top Five Performers

1. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 3.86
2. Dean College 3.80
3. Earlham College 3.79
3. Middlebury College 3.79
5. Johns Hopkins University 3.72

The full list of National Academic Team Award honorees is below in alphabetical order.

2021 NFHCA Division III National Academic Team Award

Albright College
Allegheny College
Alvernia University
Amherst College
Arcadia University
Babson College
Bates College
Bowdoin College
Bridgewater College
Bridgewater State University 
Bryn Mawr College
Cabrini University
Castleton University
Cedar Crest College
Centenary University
Centre College
Christopher Newport University
Clark University 
Colby College
Colby-Sawyer College
Concordia University Wisconsin
Connecticut College
Dean College
Denison University
DePauw University
Dickinson College
Drew University
Earlham College
Eastern Connecticut State University
Eastern University
Elizabethtown College
Elmira College
Elms College
Endicott College 
Fairleigh Dickinson University Florham
Franklin & Marshall College
Gettysburg College
Gordon College
Goucher College
Gwynedd Mercy University
Hamilton College
Hartwick College
Haverford College
Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Hood College
Houghton College
Husson University
Immaculata University
Ithaca College
Johns Hopkins University
Johnson & Wales University
Juniata College
Kean University
Kenyon College
Keystone College
King’s College
Lancaster Bible College
Lasell University 
Lebanon Valley College
Marywood University
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
McDaniel College
Messiah University
Middlebury College
Misericordia University
Montclair State University
Moravian University
Mount Holyoke College
Muhlenberg College
Nazareth College
Neumann University
New England College
Nichols College
Notre Dame of Maryland University
Oberlin College
Ohio Wesleyan University
Plymouth State University 
Ramapo College
Randolph-Macon College
Regis College
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Rhodes College
Roanoke College
Roger Williams University
Rowan University
Russell Sage College
Saint Joseph’s College of Maine
Salem State University
Salisbury University
Salve Regina University
Sewanee: The University of the South
Shenandoah University
Simmons University
Skidmore College
Smith College 
Southern Virginia University
Springfield College
St. John Fisher College
St. Lawrence University
St. Mary’s College of Maryland
Stevens Institute of Technology
Stevenson University
Stockton University
SUNY Brockport
SUNY Cortland
SUNY Geneseo
SUNY New Paltz
SUNY Oneonta 
SUNY Oswego
Susquehanna University
Swarthmore College 
Sweet Briar College
The Catholic University of America
The College of New Jersey
The College of Wooster
Thomas College
Transylvania University
Trinity College
Tufts University
Union College
University of Lynchburg
University of Maine at Farmington
University of Mary Washington
University of New England
University of Rochester
University of Saint Joseph
University of Scranton
University of Southern Maine
Ursinus College
Utica College
Vassar College
Virginia Wesleyan University
Washington & Jefferson College
Washington and Lee University
Washington College
Wellesley College
Wesleyan University
Western New England University
Westfield State University
Wheaton College
Widener University
Wilkes University
William Paterson University
Williams College
Wilson College
Wittenberg University
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
York College of Pennsylvania

One Division III academic award remains to be released, the NFHCA National Scholar-Athlete will be announced on February 23. The Division III National Academic Squad and Division III Scholars of Distinction were announced earlier this month.

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is a nonprofit organization serving field hockey coaches and supporters of the game from across the United States. The mission of the organization is to champion, strengthen, and celebrate field hockey coaches and the game. The NFHCA strives to cultivate and recognize the professional contributions of its membership and to foster and promote the growth of the sport. The NFHCA is responsible for providing a recognizable presence and voice in regard to legislation affecting the sport as well as interscholastic and intercollegiate programs.