NFHCA Honors Academic Excellence: 2023 Division I National Team Academic Awards Announced

Feb 21, 2024 | 2023-2024, Division I, News

Photo credit: Virginia Commonwealth University

MANAHAWKIN, NJ — The NFHCA celebrates academic excellence by honoring 49 Division I teams with the esteemed 2023 National Academic Team Award.

This prestigious acknowledgment is granted to programs that have achieved an exceptional team grade-point average of 3.5 or higher during the fall semester of the current academic year.

Virginia Commonwealth University leads the academic charge, securing the top spot with an impressive team GPA of 3.84. Close behind, Dartmouth College and Stanford University claim second place, each attaining a commendable team-average GPA of 3.78, reinforcing their commitment to academic success.

Top Five Performers

1. Virginia Commonwealth University, 3.84
2. Dartmouth College, 3.78
2. Stanford University, 3.78
4. American University, 3.77
5. Harvard University, 3.76

The full list of National Academic Team Award honorees is below in alphabetical order.

2023 NFHCA Division I National Academic Team Award

American University
Appalachian State University
Ball State University
Bellarmine University
Brown University
Bryant University
Bucknell University
Central Michigan University
Columbia University
Dartmouth College
Davidson College
Drexel University
Duke University
Fairfield University
Georgetown University
Harvard University
La Salle University
Lindenwood University
Long Island University
Michigan State University
Monmouth University
Northwestern University
Ohio University
Princeton University
Providence College
Quinnipiac University
Rutgers University
Sacred Heart University
Saint Francis University
Saint Louis University
Stanford University
Temple University
The Ohio State University
Towson University
University at Albany
University of Connecticut
University of Iowa
University of Louisville
University of Maine
University of Massachusetts, Amherst
University of Massachusetts, Lowell
University of Pennsylvania
University of Richmond
University of Virginia
Villanova University
Virginia Commonwealth University
Wagner College
Wake Forest University
Yale University

The NFHCA National Scholar-Athlete will be announced on February 26. The Division I National Academic Squad and Scholars of Distinction were announced earlier this month.

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is a nonprofit organization serving field hockey coaches and supporters of the game from across the United States. The mission of the organization is to stimulate the professional development of coaching leadership within the sport of field hockey. The NFHCA strives to cultivate and recognize the professional contributions of its membership and to foster and promote the growth of the sport. The NFHCA is responsible for providing a recognizable presence and voice in regard to legislation affecting the sport as well as interscholastic and intercollegiate programs.