NFHCA Celebrates Academic Excellence: 2023 Division II Scholars of Distinction Honored

Feb 19, 2024 | 2023-2024, Division II, News

Photo credit: University of Mount Olive

MANAHAWKIN, NJ — A noteworthy total of more than 120 undergraduate student-athletes have attained the distinguished designation of NFHCA Division II Scholars of Distinction. This esteemed program recognizes the academic excellence of student-athletes who have demonstrated exceptional prowess, maintaining a cumulative grade-point average of 3.9 or higher throughout the fall semester of the 2023-24 academic year.

The exceptional accomplishments of Slippery Rock University and the University of Mount Olive take center stage, each claiming the lead with the highest number of honorees on the Scholars of Distinction list—both institutions proudly showcasing 10 commendable student-athletes.

For your convenience, the 2023 honorees are presented below, organized first by school and then by last name. The table is designed to be both searchable and filterable.

2023 NFHCA Division II Scholars of Distinction

First NameLast NameInstitution
CarolineBeakesAdelphi University
EmilineBigginAdelphi University
ElisabethSeyfarthAdelphi University
MayraBokAmerican International College
MarBusquetaAmerican International College
MadelynDarlingAmerican International College
PhaedraDayAmerican International College
FennaVollAmerican International College
CarolineO'ConnellAssumption University
IsabellaHiteBelmont Abbey College
GraceHudsonBelmont Abbey College
SarahSchumacherBelmont Abbey College
BritneyPearsonBentley University
BellaCulpBloomsburg University
AlyxFlickBloomsburg University
SamSchafferBloomsburg University
LillieWeaverBloomsburg University
JulianneWheelerBloomsburg University
ReaganWiestBloomsburg University
CatoBartstraCoker University
FloortjeVan ItersonCoker University
JosephineEsterhuesConverse University
SamanthaWhiteConverse University
JuliaCooperEast Stroudsburg University
AllysonFormanEast Stroudsburg University
KerryKaufmanEast Stroudsburg University
AlexandraKupperEast Stroudsburg University
GraceLeshEast Stroudsburg University
KaylaMinkonEast Stroudsburg University
AriaCaputoFranklin Pierce University
ZoeNoorlagFranklin Pierce University
RebeccaPhillipsFranklin Pierce University
MeganRaymondFranklin Pierce University
ReeseSwansonFranklin Pierce University
BrianneMacchiaFrostburg State University
EmmaPriceFrostburg State University
MikylaRineerFrostburg State University
MorganSparksFrostburg State University
PiperTaylorFrostburg State University
CassidyKiblerIndiana University of Pennsylvania
SydneySchmouderIndiana University of Pennsylvania
EmmaTothIndiana University of Pennsylvania
JillianBuchmanKutztown University
MeganDoyleKutztown University
SarahGatehouseKutztown University
HannahMcConnellKutztown University
IsabelElengaLander University
HanneIniaLander University
GwenVendrigLander University
MerleViereggeLander University
JosefinaGolppiLimestone University
VictoriaGonzalez LopezLimestone University
Mary-CarolineHoverkampLimestone University
KellynMcCloudLimestone University
MadelynStuartLimestone University
KiaraAleskovichLincoln Memorial University
KatherineBrislinLincoln Memorial University
OliviaRosiniLincoln Memorial University
MelanieEshMansfield University
EmmaReinertMansfield University
CalistaCrockerMaryville University
ElizabethHindMaryville University
JennaCavallieriMercyhurst University
MorganColeMercyhurst University
KaylaDesormeauMercyhurst University
AllysonDoranMercyhurst University
MadisonKastenMercyhurst University
EmersonPolkowskiMercyhurst University
RhydenWeldonMercyhurst University
EmmaHoatsMillersville University
KaylaPeakesMillersville University
LillianDruryNewberry College
BritteJonkerNewberry College
PaytonKeelerNewberry College
SineadMeyerNewberry College
StembileStembileNewberry College
IsabellaBoertjesPace University
MackenzieHeylPace University
MirandaMoshangPace University
NadiaPavlikPace University
MelissaRitchiePace University
MorganStreckerPace University
KamrynDeMarzioRoberts Wesleyan University
KathleenDeanSaint Michael's College
CarmelaCaracotche PiconeShippensburg University
JuliaBoettlerSlippery Rock University
GraceBurkerSlippery Rock University
LeslieColliverSlippery Rock University
AlexHeldSlippery Rock University
HaleyMetcalfSlippery Rock University
LeahRieglingSlippery Rock University
ErinRolandSlippery Rock University
MeganRudeSlippery Rock University
MadisonShomoSlippery Rock University
HaylieSucharskiSlippery Rock University
RachelMillerSouthern Connecticut State University
TrinidadRodriguez-RicchuitiSouthern Connecticut State University
SuzanneBussemakerSouthern New Hampshire University
HannahDobeckiSouthern New Hampshire University
MiaFischerSouthern New Hampshire University
kendraevansSt. Thomas Aquinas College
JessicaAylwardUniversity of Mount Olive
NikkiBosUniversity of Mount Olive
NatashaElderUniversity of Mount Olive
SophiaFrugoniUniversity of Mount Olive
MianeckritzUniversity of Mount Olive
MorganpatersonUniversity of Mount Olive
EmilySchneiderUniversity of Mount Olive
JuleSchuurmanUniversity of Mount Olive
jintesteenbeekeUniversity of Mount Olive
MaudVan DuinUniversity of Mount Olive
BrynnaCourneenUniversity of New Haven
KelliJacobsonUniversity of New Haven
SophiaRuhUniversity of New Haven
RileySchoonmakerUniversity of New Haven
ErinSmithUniversity of New Haven
AlinaBurgerWest Chester University
AdrianaPalumboWest Chester University
IsabellaSchuteWest Chester University
RileyRobinsonWingate University
AubreyWeikelWingate University
MakennaWestWingate University

Two additional Division II academic awards are yet to be unveiled  — the NFHCA National Academic Team awards on February 21, and concluding with the announcement of the National Scholar-Athlete on February 26.

Individualized digital certificates will be generated following the February 29 deadline for any spelling corrections. Email any spelling spelling or name corrections to no later than February 29. Any corrections made after that cannot be modified.

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is a nonprofit organization serving field hockey coaches and supporters of the game from across the United States. The mission of the organization is to champion, strengthen, and celebrate field hockey coaches and the game. The NFHCA strives to cultivate and recognize the professional contributions of its membership and to foster and promote the growth of the sport. The NFHCA is responsible for providing a recognizable presence and voice in regard to legislation affecting the sport as well as interscholastic and intercollegiate programs.