NFHCA announces 2022 NFHCA Division I Regional Coaching Staffs of the Year

Dec 6, 2022 | 2022-2023, Division I, News

Regional Coaching Staff of the Year(1)

GENEVA, N.Y. — Five Division I coaching staffs have been recognized as their region’s 2022 NFHCA Coaching Staff of the Year. Each honoree was selected by a majority vote of their regional colleagues.

Mid-Atlantic Region

University of Maryland

Missy Meharg, Scott Tupper, Kasey Tapman Asper
  • Big Ten Conference tournament champions
  • Finished the 2022 season with a 19-4 overall record including a perfect 10-0 mark in College Park, MD
  • Advanced to the NCAA semifinals
  • This is Maryland’s 13th Mid-Atlantic Region Coaching Staff of the Year award


Mideast Region

Penn State University

Char Morett-Curtiss, Lisa Bervinchak-Love, Laura Gebhart
  • Finished the season 17-4 overall and 7-1 in Big Ten play
  • 2022 Big Ten regular season Co-Champions
  • Advanced to the NCAA semifinals
  • Char Morett-Curtiss was named Big Ten Coach of the Year

Northeast Region

University at Albany

Phil Sykes, Andy Thornton, Dana Bozek
  • Advanced to the NCAA quarterfinals for the second time in program history
  • Claimed the America East championship title for the first time since 2018
  • Finished the season 16-5 overall and 6-2 in America East play
  • Coached the second Northeast Region Player of the Year (Alison Smisdom) in program history

South Region

University of North Carolina

Karen Shelton, Grant Fulton, Caitlin Van Sickle
  • Finished the season 21-0, claiming the program’s 10th NCAA Division I Championship
  • Shelton named Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Co-Coach of the Year
  • Claimed their 25th ACC Championship
  • This is North Carolina’s 11th Regional Coaching Staff of the Year award

West Region

Northwestern University

Tracey Fuchs, Georgia Holland, Will Byrne
  • Advanced to the NCAA Championship game for the second straight year
  • Advanced to the Big Ten Championship game for the first time since 2014
  • Won 20 games, tying a program record that has gone unmatched since 1985
  • This is Northwestern’s second straight West Region Coaching Staff of the Year Award and third in program history

While the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) officially recognizes each institution’s three countable field hockey coaches, the association acknowledges the important work of all staff members who contribute to a program’s success.

The 2022 NFHCA Division I National Coaching Staff of the Year will be announced on Thursday, January 15, 2023 at the NFHCA Awards Dinner sponsored by AstroTurf® at the 2023 NFHCA Annual Convention.

Mid-Atlantic photo credit: Maryland Athletics

Northeast photo credit: Seth Poplaski/America East Conference

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is a nonprofit organization serving field hockey coaches and supporters of the game from across the United States. The mission of the organization is to champion, strengthen, and celebrate field hockey coaches and the game. The NFHCA strives to cultivate and recognize the professional contributions of its membership and to foster and promote the growth of the sport. The NFHCA is responsible for providing a recognizable presence and voice in regard to legislation affecting the sport as well as interscholastic and intercollegiate programs.