NFHCA announces 2021 Division I National Academic Team Award

Feb 21, 2022 | 2021-2022, Division I, News

Photo credit: David Saffran/Fairfield University

BROCKPORT, N.Y. — The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is proud to announce that 79 Division I programs have earned the 2021 NFHCA Division I National Academic Team Award.

The NFHCA National Academic Team Award recognizes programs that earned a team grade-point average of 3.0 or higher during the fall semester of the current academic year.

Fairfield University posted the highest team GPA with a mark of 3.79. Stanford University came in second — for the second-consecutive year — with a team-average 3.77.

Top Five Performers

1. Fairfield University 3.79
2. Stanford University 3.77
3. Dartmouth College 3.76
3. University of Louisville 3.76
5. Brown University 3.75

The full list of National Academic Team Award honorees is below in alphabetical order.

2021 NFHCA Division I National Academic Team Award

American University
Appalachian State University
Ball State University
Bellarmine University
Boston College
Boston University
Brown University
Bryant University
Bucknell University
Central Michigan University
Colgate University
Columbia University
Cornell University
Dartmouth College
Davidson College
Drexel University
Duke University
Fairfield University
Georgetown University
Harvard University
Hofstra University
Indiana University
James Madison University
Kent State University
Lafayette College
LaSalle University
Lehigh University
Liberty University
Lock Haven University
Long Island University
Merrimack College
Miami University
Michigan State University
Monmouth University
Monmouth University
Northeastern University
Northwestern University
Ohio State University
Ohio University
Old Dominion University
Penn State University
Princeton University
Providence College
Quinnipiac University
Rider University
Rutgers University
Sacred Heart University
Saint Francis University
Saint Louis University
Saint Joseph’s University
Stanford University
Syracuse University
Temple University
The College of Holy Cross
Towson University
University at Albany
University of California, Berkeley
University of California, Davis
University of Connecticut
University of Delaware
University of Iowa
University of Louisville
University of Maine
University of Maryland
University of Massachusetts
University of Massachusetts Lowell
University of Michigan
University of New Hampshire
University of North Carolina
University of Pennsylvania
University of Richmond
University of Vermont
University of Virginia
Villanova University
Virginia Commonwealth University
Wagner College
Wake Forest University
William & Mary
Yale University

One Division I academic award remains to be released, the NFHCA Division I National Scholar-Athlete will be announced on February 23. The Division I National Academic Squad and Division I Scholars of Distinction were announced earlier this month.

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is a nonprofit organization serving field hockey coaches and supporters of the game from across the United States. The mission of the organization is to champion, strengthen, and celebrate field hockey coaches and the game. The NFHCA strives to cultivate and recognize the professional contributions of its membership and to foster and promote the growth of the sport. The NFHCA is responsible for providing a recognizable presence and voice in regard to legislation affecting the sport as well as interscholastic and intercollegiate programs.