Erin Matson tabbed as NFHCA Division I National Player of the Year

Dec 15, 2022 | 2022-2023, Division I, News

GENEVA, N.Y. — Erin Matson, a senior forward from the University of North Carolina, has been named the NFHCA Division I National Player of the Year.

  • Led UNC to an undefeated season and a fourth NCAA title in her five seasons in Chapel Hill
  • Became the all-time leading scorer in Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) history en route to her fifth ACC title
  • Named ACC Offensive Player of the Year for the fifth time — the only student-athlete in any sport to earn conference player of the year honors five times
  • Named NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player after scoring twice and assisting on another in the 3-0 semifinal win vs Penn State University and the game winner in the 2-1 championship victory vs Northwestern University
  • Led the nation in points per game and tied for first in goals per game
  • Named NFHCA First Team All-American for the fifth year in a row
  • This is Matson’s third National Player of the Year award, the other two coming in 2019 and 2020

The NFHCA National Player of the Year announcement is the final announcement in a list of postseason, athletic awards from the NFHCA. The NFHCA will announce academic awards in February.

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is a nonprofit organization serving field hockey coaches and supporters of the game from across the United States. The mission of the organization is to champion, strengthen, and celebrate field hockey coaches and the game. The NFHCA strives to cultivate and recognize the professional contributions of its membership and to foster and promote the growth of the sport. The NFHCA is responsible for providing a recognizable presence and voice in regard to legislation affecting the sport as well as interscholastic and intercollegiate programs.