NFHCA announces Board of Director election results

by | Feb 27, 2023 | 2022-2023, News

Photo credit: Jim Stankiewicz and Pamela Cowart-Rickman

GENEVA, N.Y. — As a result of the most recent National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) elections, the NFHCA Executive Director and Nominating Committee Chair have confirmed that Carolyn King-Robitaille and Annie Kietzman will take their seat on the NFHCA Board of Directors. Lauren Cornthwaite has been reelected to a second term in her respective board position.

Carolyn King-Robitaille has been elected to the role of NFHCA president. King-Robitaille is currently the head coach at Saint Anselm College, where she has led the Hawks for 12 seasons. As the newly elected NFHCA president, King-Robitaille will relieve Anne Parmenter, retired head coach at Trinity College. Parmenter will assume the role of Past President and serve a one (1) year term which begins on March 1 and ends the last day of February 2024.

King-Robitaille has been an active NFHCA Committee member. Currently, King-Robitaille serves on the All-American Committee, is the chair of the Collegiate Senior Game Committee, serves on the DEI Committee, and is the chair of the Hall of Fame Committee. Notably, King-Robitaille helped facilitate the NFHCA Hall of Fame Awards Reception and Dinner at the 2023 NFHCA Annual Convention. King-Robitaille has previously served as the Division II Representative for the Board of Directors and on the Division II NCAA Championship Committee.

“I am honored to serve as the next President of the NFHCA. Anne Parmenter has been a tremendous leader for this organization during the past three years as President and the organization has flourished under the new leadership of Executive Director Cate Clark. I am excited and energized to begin this new position and follow in the footsteps of the many volunteers that make this organization thrive as we dedicate ourselves to serving field hockey coaches at all levels and focus on the health and growth of our sport and its coaches.” – Carolyn King-Robitaille

Annie Kietzman, the head coach and director of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion at Washington College, has been elected to serve the NFHCA as Vice President, Sport Development. Kietzman, an active member within the NFHCA, has most recently served on the NFHCA Sport Development and NFHCA All-American committees.

“I am honored to be elected to serve as the Vice President of Sport Development on the NFHCA Board of Directors. The Sport Development Committee and other initiatives to grow the game are very special to me, and I look forward to continuing their work.” – Annie Kietzman

Lauren Cornthwaite was reelected as the NFHCA Club Representative. Cornthwaite founded Aim Field Hockey in Saint Louis, Missouri, which has been in operation for 15 years. Cornthwaite is an NFHCA Sport Development Committee member and Awards Committee chair. Cornthwaite served as a mentor and ambassador of the Redwood Grant during the inaugural year and has been instrumental in conducting thorough reviews of the NFHCA Academic Award programs. Recently, Cornthwaite helped facilitate the Coaches Appreciation Lunch at the 2023 NFHCA Annual Convention.

To learn more about the NFHCA Board of Directors and their responsibilities, review our bylaws. The newly elected board members will go through an onboarding process before meeting next month.

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is a nonprofit organization serving field hockey coaches and supporters of the game from across the United States. The mission of the organization is to champion, strengthen, and celebrate field hockey coaches and the game. The NFHCA strives to cultivate and recognize the professional contributions of its membership and to foster and promote the growth of the sport. The NFHCA is responsible for providing a recognizable presence and voice in regard to legislation affecting the sport as well as interscholastic and intercollegiate programs.