NFHCA announces 2023 NFHCA Division I Regional Coaching Staffs of the Year

Dec 8, 2023 | 2023-2024, Division I, News

Regional Coaching Staff of the Year(2)

GENEVA, N.Y. — Five Division I coaching staffs have been recognized as their region’s 2023 NFHCA Coaching Staff of the Year. Each honoree was selected by a majority vote of their regional colleagues.

Mid-Atlantic Region

University of Maryland

Missy Meharg, Scott Tupper, Kasey Tapman Asper
  • Big Ten Conference tournament finalist
  • Finished the 2023 season with a 17-6 overall record, including eight wins over ranked opponents
  • Advanced to the NCAA quarterfinals after securing a top-4 seed in the NCAA tournament
  • This is Maryland’s 14th Mid-Atlantic Region Coaching Staff of the Year award

Mideast Region

Cornell University

Andy Smith, Gareth Terrett, Kellie Joyce
  • Finished the season 12-5, setting a school record for wins in a season
  • 2023 Ivy League regular season runner-up
  • Earned the No. 2 seed at the inaugural Ivy League Tournament
  • Reached their highest national ranking in the NFHCA poll at No. 17
  • This is Cornell’s first Regional Coaching Staff of the Year award

Northeast Region

Harvard University

Tjerk van Herwaarden, Kaelyn Long, Madison Maguire
  • Claimed the 2023 Ivy League regular season title and inaugural championship
  • Finished the season 16-4 with a perfect 7-0 record in Ivy League play
  • Advanced to the NCAA quarterfinals
  • Ranked fifth nationally in shutouts per game
  • Van Herwaarden named Ivy Coach of the Year

South Region

Duke University

Pam Bustin, Ralph Boersma, Jess Jecko
  • Finished the season 18-5, claiming a share of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) regular season title
  • Guided the team to a record 18 wins, marking an impressive improvement from the previous year’s 7-11 record
  • Advanced to the NCAA semifinals
  • Bustin named ACC Coach of the Year
  • This is Duke’s third Regional Coaching Staff of the Year award

West Region

Northwestern University

Tracey Fuchs, Georgia Holland, Will Byrne
  • Advanced to the NCAA Championship game for the third consecutive season
  • Captured both the Big Ten regular season and tournament titles to claim the program’s seventh regular season title and second tournament championship title
  • Finished the season 21-2 while setting a program-record 21 straight wins from September 1 – November 17. The run included a perfect 8-0 Big Ten record – marking their first undefeated conference season since 1988
  • Fuchs named Big Ten Coach of the Year
  • This is Northwestern’s third straight West Region Coaching Staff of the Year Award and fourth in program history

While the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) officially recognizes each institution’s three countable field hockey coaches, the association acknowledges the important work of all staff members who contribute to a program’s success.

The 2023 NFHCA Division I National Coaching Staff of the Year will be announced on Thursday, January 11, 2024 at the NFHCA Hall of Fame reception sponsored by AstroTurf® at the 2024 NFHCA Annual Convention.

Mid-Atlantic photo credit: Maryland Athletics

Mideast photo credit: Eldon Lindsay/Cornell Athletics

Northeast photo credit: Harvard Athletics

South photo credit: Nat LeDonne

West photo credit: Will Byrne/Northwestern Athletics




The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) is a nonprofit organization serving field hockey coaches and supporters of the game from across the United States. The mission of the organization is to champion, strengthen, and celebrate field hockey coaches and the game. The NFHCA strives to cultivate and recognize the professional contributions of its membership and to foster and promote the growth of the sport. The NFHCA is responsible for providing a recognizable presence and voice in regard to legislation affecting the sport as well as interscholastic and intercollegiate programs.