NFHCA announces 2019 Spiideo/NFHCA Division I Regional Coaching Staffs of the Year

GILBERT, Ariz. — Five staffs have been recognized as their region's 2019 Spiideo/NFHCA Coaching Staff of the Year.

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) officially recognizes each institution's field hockey coaches but acknowledges all of the important staff members that make each program successful.

Mid-Atlantic Region

Princeton University
Carla Tagliente, Sam Carlino, Hannah Prince, Dina Rizzo

Mideast Region

Fairfield University
Jackie Kane, Dani Brown, Steve Dennis
  • Named 2019 Northeast Conference (NEC) Coaching Staff of the Year
  • 2019 Northeast Conference regular-season and tournament champions
  • Kane secured her 200th career win
  • Set school record for most wins in a season (19-3)
  • Recorded longest winning streak in program history, with 12 consecutive wins
  • Recorded the first NCAA tournament win in program history
  • This is Fairfield's first Mideast Region Coaching Staff of the Year award

Northeast Region

Boston College
Kelly Doton, Mark Foster, Jill Gambino, Maggie Reddecliff
  • Doton named Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Coach of the Year
  • Margo Carlin named ACC Freshman of the Year
  • Earned the second seed in the ACC Championships, the highest in program history
  • First ACC Championship game appearance
  • First team to post two shutouts in ACC Championship history
  • Advanced to the NCAA Tournament semifinal for the first time in program history
  • This is BC's second Northeast Region Coaching Staff of the Year award and the first for Doton's staff


University of North Carolina
Karen Shelton, Jackie Briggs, Grant Fulton, Robbert Schenk
  • Erin Matson named NCAA Tournament's Most-Valuable Player, First Point USA/NFHCA South Region Player of the Year, and ACC Offensive Player of the Year
  • Yentl Leemans named ACC Defensive Player of the Year
  • 2019 ACC regular-season and tournament champions
  • Abby Pitcairn presented the 2019 NCAA Elite 90 Award for field hockey
  • Earned second-consecutive National Championship as 2019 Division I NCAA National Champions
  • Recorded second-consecutive undefeated season with 23-0 record
  • This is UNC's third-consecutive South Region Coaching Staff of the Year award and ninth overall


University of Iowa
Lisa Cellucci, Michael Boal, Roz Ellis

The 2019 Spiideo/NFHCA Division I National Coaching Staff of the Year will be announced at the 2020 NFHCA Awards Dinner sponsored by AstroTurf.